Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

My favorite writing book

on January 26, 2012

As a student of writing, I have read MANY, MANY writing books. I think a lot of them are very helpful. Usually, I just take small bits of knowledge from each one I peruse, but there is one book that is THE book. One book that is so dogeared and stained that I am almost embarrassed by how terribly its been treated, considering i love it so.

Writing Down The Bones (link)

This book is amazing. It can inspire even the most blocked writer. It came to me at a point in my life where I was wondering if I could actually do this. That is write something that was longer than 10 pages :). I was living in NYC and working at a publisher as an assistant, and all I wanted to be doing was writing the books we were publishing. I wanted to, but I didn’t know if I could. This book helped me get there, by helping me filling countless notebooks and then finally write a book!

It’s always there when I need a writing pick-me-up. Come to think of it, I might just go read it right now…

Whatis your favorite writing book?

Don’t forget to “Like” me on Facebook to get all the deets on upcoming giveaways and contests! And add my book on Goodreads if you like what I have to say! 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/LisaBursteinAuthor

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13375237-pretty-amy

4 responses to “My favorite writing book

  1. mbm8377 says:

    On Writing from Stephen King!

  2. Dan says:

    I often go back to ON BECOMING A NOVELIST (Gardner), BIRD BY BIRD (Lamott), and A POETRY HANDBOOK (Oliver).

  3. I second On Writing by Stephen King…I especially loved his idea of stories as fossils – they’re already there, and it’s the writers job to dig them up.

  4. Marilee says:

    I’m going to have to look this one up – I need done for me what it does for you:)

Leave a Reply

