Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

PRETTY AMY TEASER TUESDAY 4

on February 14, 2012

Happy Valentines Day Y’all.  In honor of LOVE here is a short excerpt about one of the things Amy loved- books! 🙂

There were shelves stacked with the books I’d loved as
a child. All the girls I’d wanted to be like. A pile of yellow
hardback Nancy Drew books, shiny paperback Ramona
books, a pale purple copy of Margaret. Ramona didn’t care;
she told the world to piss off with her short hair and freckles.
Margaret, with her hair like spun gold, cared too much. Nancy,
the fiery redhead, was too smart to worry about anything.

As I got older, I had to live in images. Started living
with an outlined face and body layered upon me by a huge
overhead projector lit by the sun. Staying with me constantly,
reminding me and everyone else of what I was not.

One response to “PRETTY AMY TEASER TUESDAY 4

  1. Lydia Sharp says:

    Love this! I was a huge Ramona fan in my younger days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

