Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

LUCKY SEVEN-Peek at a new manuscript…

on March 21, 2012

Thanks Tiffany Truitt for tagging me. This is too fun!

The Rules:

  1. Go to page 77 of your current MS.
  2. Go to line 7.
  3. Copy down the next 7 lines/sentences, and post them as they’re written. No cheating.
  4. Tag 7 other victims …er, authors.

When my aunt finally woke up she chewed on a handful of Advil like they were peanuts and sipped a cup of coffee.

I couldn’t blame her for sleeping the day away. Here, especially now, I woke up into my life and wondered if the most exciting thing that might have happened to me that day vanished with my eyes opening.

I didn’t used to feel that way. Before Brett, I was a happy, well-adjusted teenage girl. I was excited to put on my new jeans and turn on my pink phone and blow dry my hair and go to school. But after, I felt like I was in this weird contract with everyone else around me, where as long as I acted normal and looked normal and showered every so often they would do their best not to rip my heart out and stomp on it.

It didn’t usually matter if I showered.

My Lucky Seven is from one of my current works in progress: My Teenage Mid-Life Crisis

I’m tagging some of my cyber-pals from Absolute Write!

Tina Moss @Tina_Moss

Kell Andrews @kellandrewsPA

Tracey Martin @TA_Martin

Sara Leigh Walsh @SaraLeighWalsh

Emily Murdoch @LeftyWritey

Steve Cordero @SteveCordero

Lisa Brackman @otherlisa

6 responses to “LUCKY SEVEN-Peek at a new manuscript…

  1. Love this excerpt, Lisa!!!

  2. Thanks for sharing. It’s always special to get a glimpse of the inside before it’s unleashed to the world.

  3. Thanks, Lisa. Great excerpt! 😀

  4. Rachel says:

    I LOVE this excerpt. And hi Lisa- thanks for the friend request on GR – I just started an actual blog… I may have to do this Lucky 7 thing, except I don’t have really any bloggy friends yet. LOL. Maybe I can just do it on my own?
    I am super excited for Pretty Amy as well. Love the cover 🙂
    -Rachel
    rachelwritesthings.blogspot.com

  5. AIYEE! Can Rachel be me? I would love to do this but am crazed…

Leave a Reply

