Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

YA SCAVENGER HUNT- Jessica Shirvington

on March 29, 2012

Welcome! I am so happy to be hosting Jessica Shirvington and her AMAZING book Embrace Series: EMBRACE

http://jessicashirvington.com

You are following TEAM BLUE so your clue letter will be in BLUE below.

It starts with a whisper: “It’s time for you to know who you are…”

Violet Eden dreads her seventeenth birthday. After all, it’s hard to get too excited about the day that marks the anniversary of your mother’s death. As if that wasn’t enough, disturbing dreams haunt her sleep and leave her with very real injuries. There’s a dark tattoo weaving its way up her arms that wasn’t there before.

Violet is determined to get some answers, but nothing could have prepared her for the truth. The guy she thought she could fall in love with has been keeping his identity a secret: he’s only half-human—oh, and same goes for her.

A centuries-old battle between fallen angels and the protectors of humanity has chosen its new warrior. It’s a fight Violet doesn’t want, but she lives her life by two rules: don’t run and don’t quit. When angels seek vengeance and humans are the warriors, you could do a lot worse than betting on Violet Eden…

BUY IT

Jessica Shirvington is the author of THE VIOLET EDEN CHAPTERS also known as THE EMBRACE SERIES. An entrepreneur, author, and mother living in Sydney, Australia, Jessica is a 2011 finalist for Cosmopolitan’s annual Fun, Fearless Female Award. She’s also one of the lucky few who met the love of her life at age seventeen: Matt Shirvington, a former Olympian and current sports broadcaster for FOXTEL and Sky News. Married for almost eleven years with two beautiful daughters, Sienna and Winter, Jessica knows her early age romance and its longevity has definitely contributed to how she tackles relationships in her YA novels. Previously, she founded a coffee distribution company, Stella Imports, in London, and before that was involved in the management of restaurants Fuel Bistro and MG Garage in Sydney. Jessica is now a full-time novelist and living her dream.

EMBRACE: DELETED SCENE FROM CHAPTER 4

Lincoln pulled up across the road from my apartment building and cut the engine. He hadn’t spoken on the trip home and I’d appreciated it. I’d already rehashed more of my past than I thought I’d ever be able to. And now…well, it was like ripping off a bandage and finding the wound was still there.

Lincoln unbuckled his seat belt and turned to me.

“I’m okay,” I said before he could ask.

He nodded, but his smile was grim and he looked at me knowingly. I struggled not to wriggle in my seat, feeling too exposed for comfort. Suddenly, his attention moved beyond me to my passenger seat window and the park behind me. Using his distraction, I decided to make a quick exit to avoid any more awkward moments. I jumped out of the car without looking and spun right into a guy dressed in a hard wall of black leather. The moment I bumped into his shoulder he reacted. His eyes widened and his nostrils flared like he recognized me.

And really didn’t like me.

Though he was dressed like a biker, it didn’t fully hide his soft boyish features. He had pale skin with rose patches marking his cheeks and full feminine lips. But when I saw his violent pale eyes, I knew – there was nothing gentle about him.

I swallowed and started to take a step back toward the car, but my foot barely found ground before Lincoln was there, pulling me behind him with winding force.

“Run!” he yelled, pushing me.

I stumbled but couldn’t take my eyes off Lincoln. Everything felt like it was happening in fast-forward. The biker struck out. Lincoln dodged and threw his shoulder into the stranger. Impossibly, they almost took flight for a few meters before tumbling into the dark park with a thud. My mind went into a kind of process-failure. I was shocked at Lincoln’s aggressive attack, but on some level I instinctively knew how savage his opponent was.

The fight continued, fast and violent, biker guy was relentless and even as Lincoln landed hits to his face and body, he just kept coming back for more. Neither one showed signs of tiring.

Lincoln kept looking over his shoulder at me, yelling for me to go. But my feet were glued and there was no way I was leaving him behind. A solid kick landed in Lincoln’s gut but he barely swayed with the movement, which had me shaking my head and squinting to get a better view in the dark.

How?

Standing there, watching the most brutal fight I’d ever witnessed, I couldn’t take my eyes off Lincoln. He was so controlled, and warrior-strong. It was like seeing him for the first time.

Somehow, the biker managed to get past Lincoln and he lunged in my direction. I was ready to fight. Subconsciously my feet had moved into position and my arms were ready. I mean, this was why I trained every day with Linc and even though I was out of my league, running wasn’t an option. He moved closer. I waited, timed my movement, then jumped and struck out with my right foot. I hit the biker square in the chest. His body was so solid the shock reverberated through my body, throwing me to the ground. I scrambled to get back on my feet. He was impossibly strong. I’d barely made in into a crouch when he stepped towards me, grinning. I braced, my mind racing through defensive maneuvers, but before I got a chance to do anything Lincoln was back between us and in a split second, he’d kicked out the biker’s knees.

It’s the move he’d always told me you reserved for times of absolute must. People don’t come back from having their knees blown out like that. The biker went down screaming and Lincoln, not pausing for a moment, grabbed my hand and pulled.

He was breathing hard, dragging me across the road. It wasn’t until we were at the back entrance of my building that he slowed down. I was dazed but I also understood that he was worried the biker could have friends nearby. But during the ‘drag home’ my shock had morphed into utter confusion.

“Are you okay?” I said, out of breath.

Lincoln nodded. “I’m fine.” And surprisingly he was, not a mark on him.

“What was that?” I said with a bite in my tone, now pulling my hand out of his. Because one thing was absolutely certain – Lincoln had reacted like someone ready for a fight. Like someone who’d expected it. And for some reason, that guy had been trying to get to me.

“You need to be more careful,” Lincoln snapped, as if it had all been my fault, as if my very existence had created the confrontation. “Next time I tell you to run, you run!”

I bristled at the dressing down. “I wasn’t about to just leave you. And I could’ve helped!” I was shaking, but still, a part of me had wanted to have my chance to defend myself. The whole reason I did all of this training was so that I could stand and fight. I was embarrassed that I’d had to be pushed to the side.

“No. You couldn’t.” He shook his head. “Not yet.”

It was true, and that made it worse. I couldn’t believe how bad this night had turned out.

“Are you okay?” he said, calming down.

“Fine,” I replied, also retreating. “Who was that guy?”

“I don’t know. But he would’ve hurt you if I hadn’t stepped in.” He watched me carefully. When he was satisfied I understood the gravity of his words, he started to glance around. “Go straight inside, Vi. Don’t come back out tonight.” …

Wasn’t that awesome?

In addition to giving away a signed copy of my debut novel PRETTY AMY for the hunt, I will also be giving away a signed copy, bookmark and bracelet to one lucky Facebook follower. Simply Like my page to be entered!https://www.facebook.com/LisaBursteinAuthor

Amy is fine living in the shadows of beautiful Lila and uber-cool Cassie, because at least she’s somewhat beautiful and uber-cool by association. But when their dates stand them up for prom, and the girls take matters into their own hands—earning them a night in jail outfitted in satin, stilettos, and Spanx—Amy discovers even a prom spent in handcuffs might be better than the humiliating “rehabilitation techniques” now filling up her summer. Worse, with Lila and Cassie parentally banned, Amy feels like she has nothing—like she is nothing.

Navigating unlikely alliances with her new coworker, two very different boys, and possibly even her parents, Amy struggles to decide if it’s worth being a best friend when it makes you a public enemy. Bringing readers along on an often hilarious and heartwarming journey, Amy finds that maybe getting a life only happens once you think your life is over.

Next stop: http://www.jusaccardo.com/category/blog/

13 responses to “YA SCAVENGER HUNT- Jessica Shirvington

  1. Hannah says:

    I much preferred Phoenix than Lincoln, but I swear, there’s nothing better than a guy who gets all riled up when it comes to protecting you…swoon! What a lovely deleted scene, and a great comp for the Scavenger Hunt as well!!!

  2. Naomi H says:

    Thanx for being on the scav hunt! It’s such a great way to find new Authors and books to read!

  3. Thanks for the excerpt!

    And I liked your facebook page!

  4. Great scene! I loved Embrace.

  5. I liked your FB page 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

  6. Thank you thank you so much! This is awesome. I want to win, not only it’s my first scavenger hunt, but it’s also my bday on the 4th! =) SO exciting =) Thanks so much!

    Hugs,
    April @Books4Juliet
    Facebook: April David
    Email: i4thmonth(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Carla Lee says:

    Thank you so much for participating in the hunt!!!

  8. robcharron says:

    Thank you for participating in the Scavenger Hunt!
    I don’t have Facebook though.
    All the best,
    RK Charron

  9. Veray Carter says:

    That was fun! I liked you on facebook.
    veraycarter@sbcglobal.net

  10. Priya says:

    I’m so enjoying this hunt! I even found a new book to anticipate for *cough* Pretty Amy *cough*

  11. Lizzie Hagen says:

    Thanks! I’m already excited for Pretty Amy. As bad as it sounds for an avid reader, over the past months I’ve had a few too many preppy books and sadly, that’s what I labelled this book as when I saw it, but because I got to read a bit from the YA Scavenger Hunt, I’m now going to buy it as soon as possible!

  12. Lizzie Hagen says:

    Oh, and I liked the facebook page. Please excuse the rambling, I’m very tired. This was my last letter! Off the solve the cyrptogram! *begins to work*

  13. Hi! I’m really enjoying the hunt so far!
    thanks for the giveaway as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

