Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

A love letter to bloggers and reviewers

on July 9, 2012

Publishing a book is amazing, I would never deny that, but it is also TERRIFYING.

Will people like it? Will people buy it? Will people HATE it and want to burn it and stab it with bacteria infected knives?

Aside from my publicist, my editor, my agent and my husband there has been one group of folks that have kept me sane in this TERRIFYING time.

Book bloggers.

I feel like book bloggers often don’t get their due. Usually their blogs are a labor of love, just like a book is to an author. They don’t get paid for it, they do it because they love books and reading. They work tirelessly to help promote the books they love for no other reason than they love them. Well, and free books and swag, but I was amazed by how many bloggers received review e-ARCs of my book and *STILL* bought a copy. That’s just the kind of awesome people I am talking about.

I can’t tell you what it means to a debut author like me to read an amazing review for my book on a blog. What it means to have a blogger tell me they can’t wait for my next book, that they want to create a time machine so they can read it now. What it means to be having a bad day and have a message from a blogger just saying hi, or commenting on my blog, or just telling me again how much my book meant to them.

Throughout the launch of my book, I have been in contact with hundreds of book bloggers and have never found one that wasn’t professional and passionate. Those are the kind of people you want having your back. I am lucky to call several book bloggers friends now. You know who you are. 🙂

So thank you bloggers and reviewers who have loved and helped promote PRETTY AMY. Thank you bloggers and reviewers who haven’t loved it for being honest and professional. Thanks to bloggers and reviewers for promoting other amazing young adult titles to help keep the genre viable.

I know we don’t always have time to say it, but authors love you and appreciate you!

Add PRETTY AMY on Goodreads

BUY Barnes and Noble

BUY Amazon

BUY Book Depository

BUY Books on Board

Read the first chapter here

10 responses to “A love letter to bloggers and reviewers

  1. Candace says:

    It’s always nice to be appreciated! It makes doing what we do even better, a thank you goes so far! So, you are welcome. And Thank YOU for doing the shout out to the bloggers and reviewers. 🙂

  2. Rachel says:

    Thank YOU for having a blog tour and letting us all be included. And thanks for writing PRETTY AMY! I can’t wait for Cassie’s turn. 🙂

  3. Thank you for writing Pretty Amy and thank you for including me in your blog tour, it was so nice to be able to spread the word to my followers – some I know who have now brought it!

  4. Aww this is such a sweet post! I can’t stop smiling! It kind of makes the hours that most of us put in each and every week to the growth of our blogs worth it. 🙂 This is so nice of you and really, I love to blog to share my love of books and to hopefully get a really grateful reaction in return! Keep up the AWESOME work!

    I just read PRETTY AMY and let me just say, I was right! I COULD relate to Amy’s sense of loss in the world and how she just wanted to fit in and at the same time feel worthwhile. 🙂 (My review’s going up soon!)

  5. Kelley York says:

    YES. I love this. 😉 I adore all the bloggers I’ve had contact with, and hearing from them makes my day.

  6. It’s so lovely to read something like this. Thank you!

  7. Thank YOU for your kind words! I think bloggers have a tendency of getting the shit end of the stick. It’s nice to be reminded that people recognize the purpose we serve. 🙂

  8. As everyone is already saying above, THANK YOU for your kind words to the bloggers. We do what we do because we love doing it. We read, we share our love of reading and we hope that more people will read because of it. And in the process, we get to meet awesome people like you. 🙂 How can doing what you love on a daily basis get any better than that?

    Keep on loving what you do. And on that note: I am SO looking forward to reading Dear Cassie!

  9. Authors like you are a dream come true for bloggers. Congrats on your success.

  10. I can not even tell you how much I cried during this…. I love Pretty Amy so much that I find myself talking about it to anyone that comes to me for a book recommendation. It is so nice to have someone say thank you, but I have to tell you something…..

    Thank you! Thank you for taking the time away from writing Dear Cassie (go and write….I must read….lol) to thank us. It really means a lot to have an author to take the time to think about us. So thank you writing such a great book and thank you for being YOU!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

