Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

NEW TITLE, Teaser & Release Day Launch!

on October 9, 2013

Hi Everyone,

I am happy to announce the new title of my New Adult book coming on Dec. 9th from Entangled Publishing is….

SNEAKING CANDY

As you guys know it is about a creative writing student named Candice and an erotica author pen-named Candy, trying to keep her two lives separate.

The other FUN news is that you can sign up to help launch the book on release day Dec. 9th on the link below! There will be giveaways, sexy excerpts and lots of fun!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1UU8IUp-SUbGGtX5TSo4IWXU1eUkoDIfcGmSLjH1yi_Q/viewform

 

To celebrate all of this, I thought I would also post a short teaser! Enjoy!

 

“And what?!” Amanda yelled, practically throwing the laptop back at me.

“I told you it wasn’t done,” I said, heavy with satisfaction, “‘and’ was when you interrupted me.”

“Damn, Candy, this is hot,” she said, her eyes hitting mine and widening. “Who’s this guy based on?”

“No one in particular,” I said, even though as she read aloud I saw James doing all those things to me. When I wrote, I felt James doing all those things to me. If only he knew that in addition to asking for just his body in real life, I was also screwing him six ways to Sunday on paper.

Amanda scrolled back to the beginning of the book. An opening scene where the characters meet and they realize they have been double booked in their mutual friends’ million-dollar ski lodge. The hero walks in to find the heroine drinking wine and reading in front of the fire, the flames making her dark auburn hair sing.

“Brown hair,” she listed, “brown eyes, body like a Photoshopped underwear model.” Mandy smirked. “No guy in particular, huh?”

“No,” I said, my mouth shut tight.

“Not a certain student?” she asked.

“No way,” I protested, but I could feel myself turning pink. As pink as if I had been sitting in front of that fire when James walked in, his body filling the frame of the doorway, snowflakes sparkling on his jacket and in his hair, his gaze warming me like a mug of hot chocolate.

“I know this isn’t a story I told you,” she said.

“I have an imagination of my own,” I said, pointing at the side of my head.

“Have you actually done all of this?” she asked.

“I write fiction,” I said.

She frowned. She didn’t like my answer, because it wasn’t an answer.

“Fine,” I said, practically mumbling. “Not yet.”

She smiled. “In that case, I know what should come after the ‘and.’” She paused for effect. “Yes I said come.”

“Funny, you’re hilarious,” I said, not laughing.

“Do you want my help or not, Candice?” she asked, giving a hiss to the second c in my name.

I hadn’t asked for her help, but Amanda was the kind of person who didn’t care about that.

“Sure,” I said, indulging her.

“I want to make sure you’re prepared for this,” she said, touching my thigh.

“Let me guess,” I said, “more sex?”

“No,” she said seriously, “I think this scene needs a BJ.”

“Mandy,” I said, feeling my cheeks glow, my stomach lurch. I could write about sex, but something that intimate? I wasn’t sure.

Yes, I had wanted James to do the female version of that to me, but it would have been my first time when we were together in the pool and it hadn’t happened so luckily I didn’t have to return the favor. I had no idea how to return the favor.

Add SNEAKING CANDY on Goodreads
2 responses to “NEW TITLE, Teaser & Release Day Launch!

  1. BellaBunnell says:

    All signed up! LOVE the teaser! Can’t wait for more! xx

  2. OMG I am so excited for this!! I really like the new title too. Can’t wait to read it!!!

Leave a Reply

