Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

Waiting On Wednesday- Respect & Support in the Publishing Community

on October 22, 2014

I know many bloggers use Waiting On Wednesday to feature books they can’t wait for. This week I’m using it to feature a change I can’t wait for.

I’m waiting for a time when stories about authors being respectful and supportive get as much play as authors behaving like asses.

See, I actually posted a year and a half ago about some authors that were amazing to me for really no reason other than that I asked for help and or because they are generous and understand we are in a community where treating people well should be the rule.

You can read that post here:

https://lisabursteinauthor.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/why-i-love-the-author-community/

At the time, I was a very new author who had only one other book out. These authors had no reason to do anything for me, other than the fact they are good people. Great people who know that treating others well is as important as writing amazing books.

So this Wednesday join me in waiting for something that can have a real impact on our community. Join me in trying to make that kind of change happen. I welcome you to post about a great interaction or experience you’ve had with an author. Use the #authoryes hashtag- and lets get some good behavior trending! ❤

4 responses to “Waiting On Wednesday- Respect & Support in the Publishing Community

  1. Nyrae Dawn says:

    You are awesome. I love this post. What a great idea. And thank you, so so much!

  2. Tammy Sparks says:

    What an awesome post! Thanks Lisa for looking at the good side of writing and blogging!

  3. Liza @ Reading with ABC says:

    I go to a lot of authors events and most of them are amazing! I think these two cases are the exception to the rule 🙂

Leave a Reply

