Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

Getting off the Roller Coaster?

on November 16, 2014

Many people describe being published as a roller coaster. A series of ups and downs, and ups and downs, and ups and downs. This is very true. What they forget to add is that you aren’t riding in a car during all this, you are running, or falling, or climbing, or struggling to hold on.

I’m going to admit something.

I’m tired.

I’ve published Six books in Three years and I’m tired.

I still work a full time job in addition to writing books and I’m tired.

Something has to give and I fear it will be the level at which I produce books.

From the outside, I appear successful. SIX BOOKS in THREE YEARS, come on, but I know the inside. I know that I can’t keep going at this pace, emotionally, physically and most importantly creatively.

When I first started writing my only goal was to be published, but having achieved that there is now the added pressure to keep producing, to stay relevant, to stay on people’s radar.

I’m tired.

I have at least two more books coming out this year, but after that I’m not sure what I’m going to do.

I’m not sure what I CAN do anymore.

As women, we are taught we should be able to do it all- have jobs and friends and families and homes and lives- and I am starting to wonder if ALL when it comes to writing at this pace is just too much.

You guys know I’m all about truth so I’m putting this out into the universe just to see what comes back.

None of this is to take away from the immense gratitude I have for everything I’ve accomplished thus far and for everyone who helped me get there.

I love you all and I love writing books but this is just to say, to admit, to not be afraid to admit:

I’m tired.

2 responses to “Getting off the Roller Coaster?

  1. Hang in there, Lisa. The most important thing to worry about is doing what’s right for you. Slow down. Take a break. The crazy writing world isn’t going anywhere. And you’re not alone in this. I also work full-time, have a kid, coach, and manage to publish books. I’m often overwhelmed by juggling what I have to do with what I want to do. Do what makes you happy. If it’s at a slower pace, that’s okay too.

  2. I’m tired too, yo. xoxo

Leave a Reply

