Lisa Burstein

This Be Where I Blog

The NEXT BIG THING Blog Hop

on February 13, 2013

Thank you Amy Spalding author of The Reece Malcolm List for tagging me!

So I know we are supposed to be writing about our Works in Progress, but mine is a little too new to talk about yet, so I’m going to talk about Dear Cassie, which will be out March 5th.

Dear Cassie cover for reveal

What is the working title of your book/story/whatever?

Dear Cassie

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Cassie was the best friend of Amy from my first novel Pretty Amy. I always knew I wanted to write a book from her perspective, but the idea for the setting (a rehabilitation camp) actually came from some experiences of mine from high school. I was kind of a bad kid.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult Contemporary.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Lily Collins as Cassie and Liam Hemsworth as Ben.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

If you’ve closed yourself off to love, is it possible to find it again?

What is the longer synopsis of your book?

What if the last place you should fall in love is the first place that you do?

You’d think getting sent to Turning Pines Wilderness Camp for a month-long rehabilitation “retreat” and being forced to re-live it in this journal would be the worst thing that’s ever happened to me.

You’d be wrong.

There’s the reason I was sent to Turning Pines in the first place: I got arrested. On prom night. With my two best friends, who I haven’t talked to since and probably never will again. And then there’s the real reason I was sent here. The thing I can’t talk about with the guy I can’t even think about.

What if the moment you’ve closed yourself off is the moment you start to break open?

But there’s this guy here. Ben. And the more I swear he won’t—he can’t—the deeper under my skin he’s getting. After the thing that happened, I promised I’d never fall for another boy’s lies.

And yet I can’t help but wonder…what if?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Published by Entangled Publishing.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Four months.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It has almost 500 swear words in it.

Next Wednesday check out Cindi Madsen, author of the adorable Falling for Her Fiance and find out her next big thing!

2 responses to “The NEXT BIG THING Blog Hop

  1. Love this post!! And loved Dear Cassie!

Leave a comment